(Minneapolis – Sept. 10) — TeamWomen has just announced the finalists for its annual WaveMaker Awards, which serves to recognize women who are pioneers in their field, and who are respected by their employers and/or peers.

The WaveMaker Awards is a program run by the Young Professionals Board of TeamWomen, a nonprofit co-founded by former University of Minnesota basketball coach Pam Borton, and Twin Cities attorney Linda Hopkins, to encourage and support women in reaching their full potential.

Awards are being given out in five categories. The nominees are as follows:

WaveMaker Award

Awarded to a woman who is making waves in her community, profession, etc., either through demonstration of an outstanding achievement, entrepreneurial spirit and initiative, or through leadership within their profession or the community.

  • Alyza Bohbot, Alakef Coffee Roasters/City Girl Coffee Co.
  • Carolyn Reginato Lane, Smartbase Solutions | Women in Digital – Twin Cities Chapter
  • Shawntan Howell, Girls Are Powerful Organization
  • Elena Imaretska, Brave New Workshop
  • Alex West-Steinman, The Coven

Uncharted Territory Award

Awarded to a woman who has excelled in a typically male-dominated profession or industry.

  • Leah Maurer, Cushman & Wakefield
  • Tessa Murry, Structure Tech
  • Diana Marianetti, Maslon Law
  • Amy Lokken, Mud Modular
  • Shefali Pai, Hennepin County

Outstanding Mentor Award

Awarded to a woman who consistently makes a profound impact on the trajectory and advancement of other women.

  • Jaime Taets, Keystone Group International
  • Amelia Reigstad, University of Minnesota
  • Cecilia Stanton Adams, Stanton Adams Consulting
  • Natalie Johnson Lee, Sisters in Power
  • Anne Pryor, Pryority Partnerships

Community Impact Award

Awarded to a woman or company/organization who makes giving back to the community a top priority in ways that benefit the advancement of women, either through their work or through volunteer efforts.

  • Bethany Iverson, The Coven
  • Emily Hunt Turner, All Square
  • Hwa Jeong Kim, Saint Paul Council
  • Shelia Dowling, Bank of America
  • Nuria Rivera-Vandermyde, City of Minneapolis

Company Champion Award

Awarded to a company or organization that has chosen to make internal women’s advancement a priority through sponsorship, mentoring programs, goalsetting, and hiring initiatives.

  • McGough Construction
  • Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal
  • General Mills
  • Hennepin County


TeamWomen established the WaveMaker Awards in 2015 to recognize women who demonstrate outstanding achievement, an entrepreneurial spirit, and initiative through leadership within their profession or community. The honorees serve to help the Minnesota business community, while helping women achieve their own goals. The WaveMaker nominees include both TeamWomen members and non-members who are up-and-comers with high potential in the Twin Cities community.

The winners will be announced at the WaveMaker Awards Ceremony, which will be held on Thurs., Oct. 11 from 5 p.m. – 8 p.m.  The event will be emceed by KARE 11 news anchor Lauren Leamanczyk, and will take place at The Minneapolis Event Centers, located at 212 2nd Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414. Cost to attend is $50. RSVPs can be made online at teamwomenmn.org/wavemaker-awards-2018.

“We are excited to host the third annual WaveMaker Awards, and are thankful to be able to provide an opportunity for young female professionals to be acknowledged for their dedication to their profession and community,” said Katy Burke, Executive Director of TeamWomen.



TeamWomen is a Minnesota-based non-profit organization with a mission is to “Inspire Women To Rise Together.”  Founded in 2012, TeamWomen has grown to nearly 500 members. Visit https://teamwomenmn.org/ to learn more.